The Kenyan Premier League

The Kenyan Premier League (known as the Tusker Premier League for sponsorship reasons and occasionally the FKF Premier League) is the top level in the Kenyan football league system. It was formed in 1963 under the Kenya Football Federation but is now controlled by the Football Kenya Federation. All member clubs are fully professional.

The Kenyan Premier League
The Kenyan Premier League

The league was mostly stable until the late 1990s and since then its performance has not been even average. Until today, many of the league clubs have little or no finances to support themselves. However, since SuperSport became an official league partner, the league has taken on a more serious role with teams becoming professional and the majority of the clubs managing to get shirt sponsorships. This has seen the level of competition improve compared to the past.

The most successful club in the league is A.F.C. Leopards (formerly Abaluhya FC), who have won the league title a record 13 times, albeit last winning it in 1998.

Clubs                                              Head coach

  1. F.C. Leopards- Luc Eymael
  2. Bandari –           Twahir Muhiddin
  3. Chemelil Sugar – Mike Muiruri
  4. Gor Mahia – Bobby Williamson
  5. Kakamega Homeboyz – Fred Serenge
  6. Karuturi Sports – Michael Nam
  7. KCB –             Abdallah Juma
  8. Mathare United – Stanley Okumbi
  9. Muhoroni Youth – Alfred Imonje
  10. Nairobi City Stars – Bye Wadda
  11. Sofapaka – David Ouma
  12. Sony Sugar – Sammy Omollo
  13. Thika United – John Kamau
  14. Tusker –   Robert Matano
  15. Ulinzi Stars – Salim Ali
  16. Western Stima – Francis Baraza

About Author

Sabina Kamene