Mombasa Sub-counties and wards

Mombasa county is made up of six sub-counties.

Here is a summary  of wards in each subcounty

Mombasa Changamwe sub county

Changamwe has been predominantly an industrial sub-county that is home to several industries such as refineries and food processing plants. The estimated population is 147,989.

Wards in Changamwe Subcounty

  • Airport Ward
  • Changamwe Ward
  • Chaani Ward
  • Kipevu Ward
  • Port Reitz Ward

    Mombasa Kisauni sub-county

Native Mijikendas, the Muslim community of Mombasa, and immigrants from the upcountry make up the majority of the population in Kisauni. Due to numerous gang attacks, Sub County is thought to be one of Mombasa County’s most violent areas.

Wards in Kisauni sub county

  • Bamburi Ward
  • Junda Ward
  • Magogoni Ward
  • Mjambere Ward
  • Mwakirunge Ward
  • Mtopanga Ward
  • Shaanzu Ward

Mombasa Jomvu sub county

Jomvu, which is also a constituency, is essentially a mixed-economic subcounty. Interestingly, during a previous revision of the boundary lines, it was curved from the Changamwe constituency.

Wards in Jomvu sub county

  • Jomvu Kuu
  • Mikindani Ward
  • Miritini Ward

 Mombasa Likoni subcounty

On the coast of the Indian Ocean, close to one of the main towns in the nation, is the Likoni Subcounty. It is well known for its modest harbor and frequent ferries between the other little islands. Additionally, the area is one of the most unstable and is compromising the security assurances for residents.

Wards in Likoni subcounty

  • Bofu
  • Likoni
  • Mtongwe
  • Shika Adabu
  • Timbwani

 Mombasa Mvita subcounty

Mvita sub county is one of Mombasa’s sub counties. Tourism is the primary economic activity. Manufacturing and distribution also have medium and small-scale businesses.

 Wards in Mvita subcounty

  • Mkomani Ward
  • Mji wa Kale Ward
  • Tudor Ward
  • Tononoka Ward
  • Shimanzi Ward
  • Majengo Ward

Mombasa Nyali Sub county

Nyali is primarily a residential subcounty within the coastal City, located on the mainland to the north of the County.

It’s a popular coastal residential area for the wealthy, with dozens of opulent homes.

Wards in Nyali Sub county

  • Frere Town Ward
  • Kadzandani Ward
  • Kongowea Ward
  • Mkomani Ward
  • Ziwa la’ Ngomb’e Ward

About Author